Dr Peggy Brown AO

National Commissioner for Defence and Veteran Suicide Prevention

Dr Brown was appointed as one of three Commissioners on the Royal Commission into Defence and Veteran Suicide that commenced on 8 July 2021 and concludes on 9 September 2024.

She formerly held roles including Senior Clinical Advisor at the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care; Chief Executive Officer of the National Mental Health Commission; Director-General, ACT Health; Chief Psychiatrist/Director of Mental Health in Queensland, the Australian Capital Territory, and the Northern Territory; and an NHS International Fellow in the United Kingdom.

She has also served as a Member of the Agency Management Committee of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA), a Member of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC), Co-Chair of the Council of Clinical Leads for the International Initiative for Mental Health Leadership (IIMHL), Chair of the Research Advisory Council for Clear Thinking Queensland, Board Member of Health Workforce Australia, Board Member of the National eHealth Transition Authority, Advisory Board Member of Healthscope, and Patron of the Australian BPD Foundation.

In January 2018, she was admitted as an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to medical administration in the area of mental health through leadership roles at the state and national level, to the discipline of psychiatry, to education and to health care standards.